Whole Foods for Better Lab Results


I do get questions fairly often about what I eat, since I don’t have a “typical American” dietary tendency. For the record, I don’t believe in “dieting” because it’s an unhealthy mindset as well as physical endeavor. I exercise the whole foods concept as much as possible and I don’t open a lot of cans. I buy real food and make real meals. I’ve created a list so many times for various people that I finally just saved it so I can reprint it.

When I talk about “whole foods”, I’m quite serious. You need the entire egg. For anyone that missed the update a few years ago, something in the white counteracts the cholesterol in the yolk, so quit worrying and eat it. You need the white part of orange peel, because that’s where the bioflavinoids are that you need for metabolising the vitamin C in the fruit. Forget about orange juice and eat an orange. Leave the peel on your potatoes – scrub them when you wash them instead – even for mashed. Dissecting food is the worst idea any society ever came up with for nutritional matters.

  • Fresh fruit (berries, citrus, bananas, nectarines, organic apples, plums, tomatoes, avocados)
  • Carrots cooked and with Smart Balance – the Carotene is primarily fiber-bound till cooked and it is fat soluble so you need something like that with oils (even a little real butter is ok) to really utilize it nutritionally.
  • Legumes like green beans & peas – and yes I even eat those raw sometimes, Black-Eyed Peas, Pinto & various beans.
  • Jasmine & wild rices (no instant!), soba noodles (buckwheat), rolled oats (also no instant)
  • Bulk granola from the health food store, oat cereals, grits, amaranth, quinoa
  • Whole seed bread with flax and sunflower, sometimes Sprouted Wheat bread, corn tortillas, Tandoori bread
  • Wheat thins, triscuits, Wasa crackers, tortilla chips (no transfat variety), and popcorn (air popper, no nuke bags)
  • Walnuts, almonds, peanuts, cashews, pumpkin seeds, dried peas, dry roasted soybeans, and sunflower seeds
  • Dried fruit like raisins, apricots, and cranberries
  • Carob chips, organic dark chocolate
  • Organic/natural peanut butter
  • Olive oil, Canola oil, Hemp oil, Apple Cider vinegar (Bragg’s unfiltered), Balsamic vinegar, Bragg’s Aminos (soy sauce w/ no sodium benzoate, alcohol, or wheat)
  • Tubers/roots (potatoes, sunchokes when I can find them, beets, turnips… and technically this is where carrots belong)
  • Other random items: Red onions, Bell peppers, avocadoes, tomatoes, and artichokes
  • High Omega-3 cage free eggs
  • Hormone free chicken and turkey
  • Fish (wild caught ocean, such as salmon, tuna, raw ahi, mackerel, sardine)
  • Hormone free beef – grass/range fed when I can afford it.
  • Yes I eat pork in moderation
  • If I eat lunchmeat I find one with no Nitrites
  • Nonfat/calcium fortified/lactose free milk, soy creamer, coconut milk
  • Cottage cheese, sharp cheddar, occasional other types of cheese
  • Plain yogurt for anything most people would use sour cream on or in
  • Lowfat fruit-on-the-bottom yogurt with real sugar – not corn syrup!
  • Fage (Greek yogurt)
  • Filtered water, Tonic water, No sweetener juices, Green tea, Ginseng tea, occasionally regular iced tea, rarely crafted sodas with sugar (not corn syrup)
  • My spices: Real Salt, black, red, & white peppers, granulated kelp, dill weed, sage, turmeric, mustard powder, onion powder
  • Condiments: Minced garlic, olive or canola oil mayonaisse, brown mustard, and not much else

Do I ever deviate from it? Some, but not much. This of course explains why my Dr is always so disappointed to find nothing wrong in my bloodwork even though I’m overweight by their standards to a level that they think I should have diabetes, a thyroid condition, and be on the verge of heart disease. I really don’t get it because while they’re hunting for some diabolical condition of neglect, I’m sitting in front of them and clearly not a sloppy person. I may not be svelt, but I’m not exactly a barge either. The rheumatologist was the only one to actually LOOK at me, then look me in the eyes and tell me that he himself would not term me as “obese” but it’s the chart. The chart. The chart that doesn’t take individuality, general build, and musculature into consideration. The chart that would have me in a size 7 because of my height and I’d be gaunt and weak. Give me a break. ONE Dr looked at me and asked, “What’s your secret?” My reply was what I said above… food. She looked confused and so I explained that I don’t buy prepared “meals” (if that’s what you call them).

Does no one bother to cook anymore? Just a clue: Heating something in the microwave does not qualify as cooking, and opening cans and boxes does not qualify as preparing a meal. Honestly, I’ve heard the arguement about time and effort but I can walk into my kitchen right now and make a fabulous salad in 5 minutes flat because I have all the ingredients right there in my fridge. It’s not that difficult. I keep all of my crucial spices on a double-deck lazy susan my grandmother gave me. Right near that is the bottle of olive oil, and the apple cider vinegar. If people would organize their workspace in the kitchen well, they wouldn’t have to worry about how this is done. Excuses, excuses, excuses. I may not be in perfect health but I know the difference made by what I am doing. If I don’t stay on track, I feel it. To those who would say that they don’t have any real health issues to motivate them to eat right… wait for it. It eventually catches up. I’m not talking about never having a burger and fries. Even I’m not that militant. I love french fries. I like the occasional licorice, sorbet, or gummy worms. I just don’t have them every day – or even every week. I have a lifestyle that allows me the occasional indulgence without fear.

To anyone that says they can’t afford to eat this way and asks “Doesn’t it cost more?” Maybe. Does it cost you more to pay your Dr to fix things than it costs me to eat good food and make fewer appointments? Likely. Would I rather cut corners other places to feel better and live longer? Definitely. I want a quality of life while I’m here that allows me to do all the things I have yet to do on my own two feet.

Besides… it tastes better.

Tala

About Tala

-Livestream Broadcaster - Active in Periscope & Busker -YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, & Facebook Pages www.talanoexcuses.live Advocacy for better quality of life with catastrophic illness & injury. Conditions I live with myself are my awareness platform: rheumatic autoimmune & neurological, women's heart disease Traditional First Nations (Native American) -Training: Tai Ch'i Chuan, medical terminology, cultural Medicine -Avid about hiking, camping, & outdoor adventure Special Interests: Natural health, everything from East Indian to East Carolina cuisine, 16th Century German fencing Favorite Travel Spots: Yosemite, Catalina Island, E. North Carolina, Northern CA redwoods/coastal rainforest ~I live as naturally as I can, stay on a whole foods diet (as in what I eat, not as in "a diet"), avoid as many synthetic meds as I can, and do not consume artificial sweeteners and most preservatives. If you're curious about why, see my posts.~ Periscope/Twitter ID: Tala_NoExcuses https://badges.wegohealth.com/ha-awards-2016.js?referrer=Owb2x2Nb8L81mhJHyfwGcg

Posted on August 15, 2010, in General Blather and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Tala,Thanks,because i do not have a tipical american diet either, (hispanic,north african and jewish,is my mix), so i love chickpeas, and lentils, and rice not to big in meats(i cooked and some times eat it), yes for fish, and lamb, and yougurts, and cheese, bigs in seeds and fruits, and bread and wine

  2. You probably eat healthier than most people because of your cultural influences. That’s good food you’re describing there. :-D More people should stay away from fast food, really. It’s a bad habit. Thanks for stopping by! :-)

    • Arche Patricia

      Oh the site is great i can see more of you and is great,about being healthier..i don’t know, we have a joke that Jewish people “survive and eat” every holiday is about food a lot of it, and the Hispanic part is worth ..i mean my family can eat and they criticize me because i do not eat as much as they do (always had problems with the stomach), but my question was because i see some people do not eat pasta, or bread, or beans,or chocolate, and i love them. So since you have been dx for longer time, it was nice to read your column.

      • In my experience, I’ve known a lot of Jewish people that have digestive complaints. There is supposed to be some on my father’s side and that would hold true… the IBS comes from that side. Not a surprise to me at all then that you have the same kind of issues. I don’t know why that is but it seems to be a common complaint. I’m actually still fighting for a sensible diagnosis myself but finally got my foot wedged in the door for SOMETHING w/ a tentative on Fibromyalgia. It’s a start. I’ve known for most of my life something is seriously wrong and my symptoms are pretty clear. So that’s where that is. I do eat pasta, bread, beans, and chocolate, but as you can see all things in moderation and the chocolate is dark, and organic. Some that also have Celiac disease have to modify further to deal with those issues, so for them certain foods aren’t tolerable. It’s a very individualized thing with autoimmune diseases. Each person has to figure out the little adjustments as they go along to find just the right balance. Thanks for following along. I’m happy to have you here. :-)

Leave a Reply

