Good Things Come to Those That Wait


Sometimes it only takes a little thing to give encouragement.

Sometimes it’s direct, and sometimes it’s a joy for another person in your life. Other times it may be things that creep up when you’re not looking. We usually think of the negatives in that context, but even a good event can slink in when you least expect it. It’s easy to feel so buried that you don’t even notice right away.

I still feel overwhelmed. I still feel “stuck” in many ways. A moment or two of encouragement however lightened the load a bit.

First, I went to log into an email that I don’t check very often – the one used for my online store. There I discovered that on November 11 someone decided that my artwork was worth paying for, and I had my first sale. It’s not much, and the royalty is small, but it doesn’t matter. It’s been so many years since I sold any of my artwork that I’m ecstatic about it. The fact that anyone felt it was worth their hard-earned dollars is enough for me.

Then when I woke up this morning and reached for my glasses, I had another realization. My hands felt stiff so I automatically went into a careful paw-like grasp by habit. When I did, I realized that it was completely unnecessary. My fingers are stiff, true enough, but I can FEEL them and was able to grasp small objects without fearing I’d drop them. This problem has been plaguing me for many months on a regular basis, and happened periodically in years prior, during flares. Stress seems to make it worse. I’m under tremendous stress right now, and yet… I don’t seem to have had an episode with it in at least 3 weeks. That tells me one very important and simple thing.

The Plaquenil is working.

I have had some reduction in pain level. A lot of it we attributed to the Medrol, and I’ve been tapering off of it for a while now. I’m down to 1mg a day, so I know it’s not the steroids at this point. I never was looking for a perfect solution or magic pill that made all the symptoms go completely away. I don’t expect that but I did want some control back, and the ability to function closer to normal. I think I’m getting that. There are still good and bad days… and the fatigue is still a looming factor. It’s still an improvement though, and I’ll take it. Now if I can just pull the money together to see the new Dr. ;-)

____________________________________________________________

I’ve been sick – down with a cold. One of the scariest things that happens while you’re immunosuppressed. So I’ve had no head for writing at all for about 3 weeks, or I’d have been back up here sooner. Thankfully, I’ll be completely off the Medrol soon. Hopefully, I won’t need again any time soon. Those of you that still check in here, even when I haven’t added anything new, I really do appreciate it. I can see that there has been some activity. Thank you.

About Tala

-Livestream Broadcaster - Active in Periscope & Busker -YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, & Facebook Pages www.talanoexcuses.live Advocacy for better quality of life with catastrophic illness & injury. Conditions I live with myself are my awareness platform: rheumatic autoimmune & neurological, women's heart disease Traditional First Nations (Native American) -Training: Tai Ch'i Chuan, medical terminology, cultural Medicine -Avid about hiking, camping, & outdoor adventure Special Interests: Natural health, everything from East Indian to East Carolina cuisine, 16th Century German fencing Favorite Travel Spots: Yosemite, Catalina Island, E. North Carolina, Northern CA redwoods/coastal rainforest ~I live as naturally as I can, stay on a whole foods diet (as in what I eat, not as in "a diet"), avoid as many synthetic meds as I can, and do not consume artificial sweeteners and most preservatives. If you're curious about why, see my posts.~ Periscope/Twitter ID: Tala_NoExcuses https://badges.wegohealth.com/ha-awards-2016.js?referrer=Owb2x2Nb8L81mhJHyfwGcg

Posted on November 16, 2010, in I Am That Wolf and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

