Neuroses Galore


It’s nice to be missed. It’s not nice to be talked about when people think you aren’t looking. It would be nice I suppose, if everything being said were complimentary. It’s not so cool when you see people making assumptions without getting their facts straight.

It seems that no matter what I do in life there is always going to be someone that thinks they know me, thinks they know what goes on in my head, or thinks they know why I feel the way I do about one thing or another. I get enough of that from my family, BELIEVE ME, and I so do not need it from acquaintances and friends. Someone very special in my life has taught me to speak up more for myself than I used to, so again since it’s my blog, I’m just putting it all out there. I figure that if someone came here to read my words then they either want to hear what I am thinking and they can take it, or… they didn’t really want to and they’ll leave if they find out they’re sorry they opened the page. Either way, it works out fine for me.

I am very outspoken about natural remedies – for lack of a better term. It is the FIRST way that we human beings care for ourselves. It include the food we eat, and the water and other things that we drink. It includes choosing the environment for the air that we breathe, and things that get on our skin. It includes the people that we spend time face-to-face with (or don’t), and the physical activities that we choose. It is our natural world that we live in every day. THAT is your life, your breath, your very being on this planet. You are an intrinsic part of nature whether you want to be or not. You affect others, and others affect you. The same is true of all substances that you come in contact with. That is what is natural.

We all make choices within this realm. Some choose altered substances that are unstable in their effects and outcomes – those are called synthetic. That includes not just medication, but also foods, and drinks, and products. Those choices have an effect on you that are both short term and long term, and are often unseen. I am a proud Native American woman and I am very close to nature in my heart and the basic way that I live my life. I try to be as conservative, natural, and earth-based as I can within this exploded society that we live in. It’s not easy. It is however the best and healthiest thing that I can do for myself, and for my niece and nephew’s future. My impact here is more than on me… it will be on their adult life as well. That includes not only what I leave behind when it comes to pollution, but also what I add to the pool of knowledge in this society. If I am a lump and do nothing when I see something that could be helpful to others, then I am negligent and worthless for the space that I occupy. I am outspoken about my beliefs for that reason. No one is required to see things the way that I do. Truths are uttered every day, all around the world, by geniuses and madmen alike. Find truth where it is, and forget the rest.

I will myself to have a better life. No one is going to do that for me. I make choices for myself that I can see positive results from. I eat real food that doesn’t come in a box or a can. I take my 5-HTP so I can rest and not have panic attacks. I take my SAM-e and omega-3s to help reduce pain. I drink my purified water to stay hydrated without sucking down chlorine and fluoride (and God knows what else) en masse. I check my juice labels for HFCS so I can avoid it. I eat my fresh vegetables with my meals to help my digestion. I get my grass-fed beef when I can afford it, and avoid hormones in anything that might contain it. These are not hard things to understand.

Medication is a last resort. That doesn’t mean that I eschew it. If it were not for synthesized medications I would have died as a child a long time ago. I’m not an idiot. I just take my time evaluating with the information that is available to me like an intelligent human being – and make educated choices from that. If that means my quality of life is improved, then anyone with any decency should be happy for me. If someone else learns something from it and gets the same result, then all the better. If I didn’t care about that, I would keep it to myself. How selfish would that be???

Consider the people that are told that they can control developing diabetes with dietary changes… and then they ignore it, eat what they want, and end up on insulin anyway. I knew someone that used to say, “I’d rather eat what I want and die.” Notice that was pastense. What do you think happened to her? She could have eaten right, not needed meds, and lived longer… to see her grandchildren. Instead, she ate what she wanted, ended up on meds, stayed very overweight, ended up in a wheelchair, lost a toe, then a foot, then a leg, then died. She wasn’t old enough to warrant that. I miss her. I don’t intend to be that person. I still have things to do.

About Tala

-Livestream Broadcaster - Active in Periscope & Busker -YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, & Facebook Pages www.talanoexcuses.live Advocacy for better quality of life with catastrophic illness & injury. Conditions I live with myself are my awareness platform: rheumatic autoimmune & neurological, women's heart disease Traditional First Nations (Native American) -Training: Tai Ch'i Chuan, medical terminology, cultural Medicine -Avid about hiking, camping, & outdoor adventure Special Interests: Natural health, everything from East Indian to East Carolina cuisine, 16th Century German fencing Favorite Travel Spots: Yosemite, Catalina Island, E. North Carolina, Northern CA redwoods/coastal rainforest ~I live as naturally as I can, stay on a whole foods diet (as in what I eat, not as in "a diet"), avoid as many synthetic meds as I can, and do not consume artificial sweeteners and most preservatives. If you're curious about why, see my posts.~ Periscope/Twitter ID: Tala_NoExcuses https://badges.wegohealth.com/ha-awards-2016.js?referrer=Owb2x2Nb8L81mhJHyfwGcg

Posted on January 26, 2011, in General Blather, I Am That Wolf, Things That Make You Go... AAAaaaauuuggghhh!!!. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I totally agree with your approach and am now paying the price for my years of ignorance with regard to what I put in and on my body. I have kept the necessary drugs (which are thankfully few at this point) and ditched the rest. I can tell you, I was shocked to open my email (from which I hadn’t read in a couple of months) to see all the blab about you. On the other hand, I am very pleased to find you, dear. Although I’ve chatted with you only a few times, your opinion was one I valued above all others as I felt you had a very well-thought-out approach. Good luck with your medical terminology course. I’m sure you’ll ace it ;)

    • Well, thank you. That’s lovely to read. :-) I have an advantage on one hand with pre-existing knowledge, and a disadvantage on the other not having gone to a public high school… and never having taken a biology course. He is pulling some things from their prior semester and as an ROP student I’ve been inserted in the middle of it. It’s a little frustrating. I had to go buy some books on my own to make up for that deficit. I really appreciate you visiting my blog and I hope that you will continue to do so. Since it’s mine, I can freely speak my mind. I figure if someone ever doesn’t like what I have to say here, they know where the little X is in the corner of the window. lol

      You know what, all you can do is start where you’re at. We’re all born ignorant. We learn from what we’re provided. Some have more of an advantage of information than others and it’s purely circumstantial. It’s not always the fault of the individual… you know? You’re making an effort to turn some things around now and that’s what matters most.
      :-)

  2. Hello Tala, I am enjoying your blog and want to comment on filtered water. I have had years of deliveries from Poland Spring including sport bottles and three gallon bottles which of course I could not lift. So, in an attempt to stop using plastic bottles that end up being “recycled” (doubtful) and having to rely on someone to come and put the bottles on my cooler, I decided to try filtering water at home. I started with Brita, then I think the second one was Pure and then I read an article about a filter system called “Zero Water”. The filter system came with a devise much like a battery operated thermometer only bigger. It measured impurities in your water. So I first tested my tap water which registered 384. Then I tested the Brita which showed a contaminent level of 260+. The Pure did well at a little over 100. Then came the real test. Would the Zero Water system really remove all contaminents? Its five filter system brought the count down to zero. I have to admit I was astonished. The water was so refreshing, no taste as it should be, but refreshing. Now after some research I found that it had a large, two filter system for use on a water cooler. How perfect for me. It has two chambers and a lid. The first chamber fits on top of the cooler. The second chamber has the two large filters attached to it and it is placed on top of the lower chamber. Then with a pitcher, I simply add enough water to fill the upper chamber and it slowly fills the lower chamber.

    The real test came when my daughter was visiting from Ohio. She asked me what kind of water it was and said it was better than Poland Spring. I showed her the system and showed her how the tap water read so high and the zero water read zero. She was very impressed and agreed that it was so much easier for me to use. Now I have insulated stainless water bottles and my guilt about adding to the land fills is also gone. Not to mention you can send the filters back to the manufacturer so they can recycle them. I am very happy about this system I have been using for the past year.

Leave a Reply

