Everybody Lies?


Dr. House says that “everybody lies”. If that’s really the truth, then why are we placing our trust in physicians so deeply that are nothing more than another human being capable of a lie? While I believe there is an element of truth about the lies (haha), I don’t believe it is an unavoidable character flaw. Unfortunately, there are a massive number of patients that do withhold pertinent information from their physicians. As a result, they don’t even have an accurate picture of what the truth IS. I’ve said for years that men don’t know what 120 lbs really looks like on a woman, because most of them lie about their weight. I never do because I just don’t see the point. I look how I look, and speaking a number won’t alter that for good or bad either one. As a general rule, I don’t lie to physicians. What would be the point?

I say “general rule” because it is true that everyone commits omissions, even if it’s not intentional. It can happen. I do not however leave my Dr’s office and snort down a Big Mac, super sized fries, and a HFCS-laden soda. Yuck? When I tell him that I eat fresh fruits & vegetables, organic as much as I can, lean meat, wild caught ocean fish, omega rich cage-free eggs, almond milk, lowfat yogurt, dark leafy greens, nitrite-free preserved meats, nuts, berries, cook with canola & coconut oil, and drink water most of the time… I’m not kidding! If I do not do those things, I pay for it most readily. Most people may get away with it for a while but I can’t. So why would I do that to myself?

Dr’s are jaded by the untruthful lot. I know this. You would think after a few visits though, they’d get a clue and treat you with a modicum of respect. What can I say, I expect it even after years of not getting it.

Drs… lie. So I’ve spent a few days in serious distress over the idea that I’m stuck with a permanent type of damage to the left ventricle of my heart. According to my Dr, nothing will improve it and all you can do is try to prevent further damage by lowering your blood pressure. Well guess what? I READ. Not only have I found there is a medication that can offer (over time) reduction of LVH, but I’m a prime candidate for it. Beta Blockers can trigger asthma, and worsen Raynaud’s Syndrome – both of which I have. Losartan not only isn’t an asthma risk from anything I can find, but it is used to treat and improve Raynaud’s AND has some anxiolytic potential (treats anxiety). It’s in my record that I have anxiety disorder. Do these Drs not read what’s right in front of them?

I wish I knew why this information was withheld from me. One thing is for certain… come Monday, someone is getting a piece of my mind.

If you have LVH/cardiomyopathy and haven’t been offered alternatives to a Beta Blocker, ask your Dr about this medication. I will be.

About Tala

-Livestream Broadcaster - Active in Periscope & Busker -YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, & Facebook Pages www.talanoexcuses.live Advocacy for better quality of life with catastrophic illness & injury. Conditions I live with myself are my awareness platform: rheumatic autoimmune & neurological, women's heart disease Traditional First Nations (Native American) -Training: Tai Ch'i Chuan, medical terminology, cultural Medicine -Avid about hiking, camping, & outdoor adventure Special Interests: Natural health, everything from East Indian to East Carolina cuisine, 16th Century German fencing Favorite Travel Spots: Yosemite, Catalina Island, E. North Carolina, Northern CA redwoods/coastal rainforest ~I live as naturally as I can, stay on a whole foods diet (as in what I eat, not as in "a diet"), avoid as many synthetic meds as I can, and do not consume artificial sweeteners and most preservatives. If you're curious about why, see my posts.~ Periscope/Twitter ID: Tala_NoExcuses https://badges.wegohealth.com/ha-awards-2016.js?referrer=Owb2x2Nb8L81mhJHyfwGcg

Posted on May 28, 2011, in I Am That Wolf, Things That Make You Go... AAAaaaauuuggghhh!!! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Donna Niforos

    Being one of those patients with LVH and cardiomyopathy, I can tell you that despite Coreg and Vasotec that I have been taking for the past almost 5 years, I haven’t gotten any worse. The combination has managed to keep things from deteriorating. Having said that, I do get short of breath more frequently and have very little stamina anymore. I also am 5 years older then when I was first diagnosed with LVH and cardiomyopathy. I am, entering my 6th decade. Also, I have SLE and RA and it is often the order of things in those diseases for the heart to begin to decline, especially from RA.

    Does everybody lie? The answer is yes and we also find it ok to classify our lies and make excuses. White lies? Lies that do no harm? Really? Isn’t a lie a lie no matter what? The act of lying by omission has somehow managed to be the excuse people use? And doctors certainly withhold information, but I believe it is to make their own jobs easier. If patients know everything then they will become the educated patient and educated patients drive most doctors crazy. We have the right to everything about our conditions and the options that are available for our treatment. But then we take up too much of our doctors’ time asking questions.

    So, it has become a way of practicing medicine, lying by omission. What a terrible commentary on our healthcare industry. It is no wonder we are no where near number one anymore. It is really too bad, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

