Holistic is as Holistic Does


 

….and now for a few words from our sponsor….

 

HOLISTIC – adjective

 

1. analyzing whole system of beliefs: characterized by the view that a whole system of beliefs must be analyzed rather than simply its individual components

 

2. considering all factors when treating illness: taking into account all of somebody’s physical, mental, and social conditions in the treatment of illness

 

This is just a tidbit for anyone that may be confused about what the word holistic means. I rarely even use it myself, but it is something that I firmly believe is the only intelligent and beneficial manner in which to serve people medically. I’ve noted on more than one occasion that some people try to assign an unrelated meaning to this word that indicates the use of herbs. Even Naturopathy isn’t defined that way. Both approaches (and they are inter-related) involve minimalist approaches, least invasive choices, and a consideration of the entire being of the patient. If someone can give me a solid reason to object to that, I’d really love to hear it – seriously… post something. I want to hear that story.

 

The misconception that holistic or naturopathic approaches either one mean that you’re eschewing modern medicine and using herbs to replace them is getting really old. To begin with, if you have an objection to herbs, you need to go to your medicine cabinet and throw out all your pills. Where do you think they came from?

 

Aspirin = willow

 

Plaquenil = Cinchona

 

Digitalis = Foxglove

 

Vicodin = Opium poppies

 

(And a boatload of others, along with Vicodin, I might add)

 

Taxol = Pacific Yew

 

Atropine = Belladonna

 

Theophylline = Theobroma Cacao, Coffee, Tea

 

I could go on, but I think that’s enough. There also seems to be a misconception floating around that I gulp handfuls of marketed herbs and tell my Dr to piss off. Let me make it perfectly clear that if you were to look at my supply of supplements, you’d be looking at krill oil, ALA, CLA, potassium, magnesium, chromium, calcium, and a 1-a-day from Trader Joe’s. The closest you’ll find to “herbal” anything is primrose oil, ginseng, and gingko (which I rarely take). I’m willing to bet that the people screaming about the safety of herbs are A. taking aspirin at some point, and B. taking a primrose supplement because they heard it was good for you, oh and C. drinking ginseng tea when they’re tired. It’s still a plant, you know. Ordinary TEA is a plant, and believe you me it IS medicine. I find the common practice in this society of taking unrefined dry herbs in a capsule on a daily basis to be repugnant, in fact. On the rare occasion that I need to use my training in traditional Medicine, it’s generally a tea for a chest cold, some type of soup, or possibly using aloe or plantain for a skin irritation. Unlike many people in this country, I actually respect the knowledge I was entrusted to keep. When you abuse it, it will not be there when you really need it! When I do need a medication for something, and I’ve tried adjusting my lifestyle and diet to repair the situation without positive results, I take the medication. I’ve never indicated anything to the contrary to anyone in my life. It is my preference not to, as it should be for anyone. That is my right. I am not however a drooling moron that can’t make an intelligent choice when I need to.

 

This was simply for the benefit of anyone misled about my practices and beliefs. If you have no idea what I’m talking about, then it doesn’t apply to you. If you’re reading this and going, “Oh… OOPS“, you’re now better informed. To those that have communicated with me privately and are the true network of support for me, I appreciate your sincerity.

 

For anyone that saw the mocking remark in a certain forum recently, I would pose it to you to consider the mental stability of an individual with the need to laugh at a chronically ill person in need of taking a medication. I have no idea what the purpose of that was, but I’ve said my piece.

 

About Tala

-Livestream Broadcaster - Active in Periscope & Busker -YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, & Facebook Pages www.talanoexcuses.live Advocacy for better quality of life with catastrophic illness & injury. Conditions I live with myself are my awareness platform: rheumatic autoimmune & neurological, women's heart disease Traditional First Nations (Native American) -Training: Tai Ch'i Chuan, medical terminology, cultural Medicine -Avid about hiking, camping, & outdoor adventure Special Interests: Natural health, everything from East Indian to East Carolina cuisine, 16th Century German fencing Favorite Travel Spots: Yosemite, Catalina Island, E. North Carolina, Northern CA redwoods/coastal rainforest ~I live as naturally as I can, stay on a whole foods diet (as in what I eat, not as in "a diet"), avoid as many synthetic meds as I can, and do not consume artificial sweeteners and most preservatives. If you're curious about why, see my posts.~ Periscope/Twitter ID: Tala_NoExcuses https://badges.wegohealth.com/ha-awards-2016.js?referrer=Owb2x2Nb8L81mhJHyfwGcg

Posted on May 30, 2011, in General Blather. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Donna Niforos

    Your message contains information that I guess I knew yet never connected as being holistic. Of course many medications, pain meds for example, are made from poppies. Of course tea and coffee are made from things that grow in the ground or on trees. As an RN we are trained to think in the direction of pharmaceuticals but don’t think about where many of them come from. I am guilty of popping the pills that are prescribed, occassionally objecting to a certain drug for personal reasons. I had an anatomy and physiology professor who aptly said that for every good effect a medication provides, there is at least one effect that is anything but good. Usually the contraindications and the list of possible side effects are enough to scare you into declining to take certain medications. That isn’t even taking into consideration the interactions that drugs may have with another you are taking. Many, especially blood pressure medications cannot be taken with grapefruit juice. Some medications are rendered useless if taken with antacids. Many antibiotics will only be effective if taken in a certain order with regard to meals.

    Another frightening practice is the notion that if a vitamin is good for you, then taking two of them must be even better. Truth be told, you can overdose of vitamins and since some people take a multivitamin because they think they should and then add another supplement, it could be downright dangerous. Vitamin E for example, is often found in multivitamins and then people hear that Vitamin E is good for their heart and so they will purchase a bottle of Vitamin E and take it along with their multivitamin. That can cause some serious problems. It is like that with many supplements.

    The public knows that their is an “app for that”, so they continue the thought with, there is a “pill for that”. Of course in this case people look for an easy way out. Why diet if there is a diet pill. Why not take a medication for diabetes instead of watching your diet and maybe losing weight and exercising. Obvious this doesn’t work for everyone and keeping blood sugar level in a good range is crucial. There are many people who cannot exercise for a number of reasons, but they can stay away from things like soda or sugary sweets. But many do prefer to simply pop a pill.

    Do not get me wrong, there are medications that save lives, that give people the ability to function when they couldn’t function before. Personally I have more medications flowing through my body than I care to think of. But I appreciate them and am careful to take them as directed. I do not “share” any of my medications, not only because it is illegal but because that person could have a reaction that could be life threatening.

    Yes, holistic takes into account the whole person. It considers lifestyles, conditionns as well as the persons emotionsl needs. It takes into consideration a persons beliefs whether religious or otherwise.

    All of this proves that holistic medicine is a good thing.

  2. I am reminded of a few things. The first is the mother of someone that was my best friend for 11 yrs. She developed diabetes and could have controlled it with diet and possibly at worst a pill, but refused to be proactive. I remember her saying more than once, “I’d rather eat what I want and die.” She did. Before she did though, she lost a toe.. and then part of her foot… and then part of her leg…. One morning her husband woke up, and she didn’t. Tragically unnecessary, and IMO too young.

    Another thing I always remember is that I myself have a relative that died of Vitamin A toxicity. I’ve known that since I was in my late teens, and it is always in my mind when I take a supplement – to be mindful of what it is, why I’m taking it, and it’s potentials (good and bad).

    I have reactive hypoglycemia myself. If I wanted to, I could be diabetic. That sounds funny, but seriously it would be easy to eat wrong and end up where my friend’s mother did. Well… easy except that my body lets me know in short order when I’ve eaten even a little of the wrong thing. I don’t think I could get that far without other major issues to handle.

    It’s funny reading your comment because I was pondering some of this earlier in the evening after my first dose of Losartan (yay!). I had a burst of feeling good after my evening walk and realized that this is why so many people take medications while continuing a self-abusive lifestyle. They know they can (for a while) pop a pill that makes the discomfort of what they’re doing seemingly go away. I have a better education than to actually do that, but I now have a grasp of the thought process involved. Fortunately I am disciplined enough to march into my own kitchen that is stocked with healthy food and make a meal anyway, even when my head is going “OOOoooO! A chili cheesedog would be SO good right now!” I don’t even know where that comes from sometimes. Maybe it’s partly that I miss the ability to indulge at will, even if it’s not often – having the CHOICE without repurcussions would be nice. I still have choices. They’re just not very liberal ones.

    LOL on the scarey side effects, by the way. I commented one time that when I’m reading the leaflet of most meds the side effects sound like a good description of the very thing I’m trying to treat with that med! That’s disturbing. I won’t even attempt to decipher potential interactions on the many things I’m taking/using by now. I trust two things for that info: My pharmacist, and MediGuard.org.

Leave a Reply

