Can and Cannot


Life is as much about finding out the things you cannot do, as the things you can.  I think it’s just better to look at the “can nots” as things that don’t belong on your “can” list.  Not everything is suited to everyone, and it isn’t necessarily biting off more than you can chew when it turns out that it isn’t.  You may have just selected the wrong menu item.  Don’t be afraid of learning which strengths and weaknesses belong to you.

I find this out with my studies on a regular basis.  Some subjects are a means to an end, but I find that the in-depth background detail required to get a documented education on some of them so mind-numbing that I just can’t stomach the investment of time.  I am always loathe to admit defeat, but a teacher recently pointed out the above truth to me in the matter.  She was 100% right… it isn’t a failure, just a different kind of lesson.  If dragging yourself through a subject feels like walking on broken glass and you will end up with a barely passing grade (if you’re lucky), to me that is not a worthwhile investment.  With the difficulties I face for any study, it’s in my best interest to choose the subjects in which I can excel.  Finding my aptitude for medical terminology to be so good, I did extremely well in that class.  This week I had to tell myself that it’s okay to let go of the things that aren’t working and go look for the ones that will.

I have said many times that I am starting my life over after 40.  This is part of what that is about.  Trial… sometimes error… more trial… some successes… and all of it perfectly acceptable.  I think I come from just old enough a generation to find this new technological world still a little daunting at times.  I’m comfortable with it.  I just lack the knowledge of how to use it in certain areas.  We just keep going, and inevitably keep growing.

About Tala

-Livestream Broadcaster - Active in Periscope & Busker -YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, & Facebook Pages www.talanoexcuses.live Advocacy for better quality of life with catastrophic illness & injury. Conditions I live with myself are my awareness platform: rheumatic autoimmune & neurological, women's heart disease Traditional First Nations (Native American) -Training: Tai Ch'i Chuan, medical terminology, cultural Medicine -Avid about hiking, camping, & outdoor adventure Special Interests: Natural health, everything from East Indian to East Carolina cuisine, 16th Century German fencing Favorite Travel Spots: Yosemite, Catalina Island, E. North Carolina, Northern CA redwoods/coastal rainforest ~I live as naturally as I can, stay on a whole foods diet (as in what I eat, not as in "a diet"), avoid as many synthetic meds as I can, and do not consume artificial sweeteners and most preservatives. If you're curious about why, see my posts.~ Periscope/Twitter ID: Tala_NoExcuses https://badges.wegohealth.com/ha-awards-2016.js?referrer=Owb2x2Nb8L81mhJHyfwGcg

Posted on September 19, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. With a similar backround of studies, I took some management classes as my medical condition was getting worse and my nursing duties were getting more difficult. I had a 4.0 average until a class entitled “The Legal and Ethical Aspects of Healthcare Management”. I had no problems with the ethical part of the course but the legal stuff drove me crazy and I struggled with it. My professor asked me if it would really bother me if I lost my 4.0. I wasn’t sure about why I was being asked the question, but my response came right out of my mouth….”no, actually it would take the pressure off”. I think my answer surprised both of us, but by giving myself permission not to stress out about my GPA I felt so much better. I graduated with a 3.79. I’m still not quite sure about tortes and such and as it turned out I am too sick to return to work in any position. But I got through the class. I’m quite sure it wasn’t worth the stress.

Leave a Reply

