Leadership & Loyalty


 I do not use the word Friend lightly. I’ve blogged about this in the past, but this time it is not to point out that I have few that I feel deserve that title. This time it is to point out that I am loyal to those I consider to be a Friend.

I recently witness a hissy fit of astronomic proportions that had a fall-out affecting many, many people unnecessarily. It amazes me that in this day and age of enlightenment and technology, people still have not learned how to manage modem communication with some reasonable amount of maturity. Any idiot with a keyboard can create a group, or run one that someone else created, but it takes a responsible and sensitive commitment to the members and a realization that they all have human needs to run one WELL. If you’re going to label it for a specified purpose, then you have to be doubly concerned with what you put out there. When you say you’re offering some kind of “support“, then you’re responsible for damage done when you lash out at others without just provocation. I find it even more offensive when management disagreements aren’t handled internally, and with due process. Having an emotional reaction and just pushing a button that cuts someone off from hundreds of friends doesn’t make you a leader. It makes you a nasty brat. Yes, I said it. Selfish beyond belief.

I care about what I saw because a dear Friend was hurt unnecessarily. Hurt to the point that her health suffered, and I’m not okay with that. I care because I know there are others affected by the situation as well that have now been deprived of that Friend’s presence and caring input.

A leader is not defined by wielding power. A leader is defined by earning trust and protecting it. A leader is a person you will follow to a place you wouldn’t go by yourself. Terrorizing people into compliance does not earn you that kind of trust.

I guess if anyone reads this and it stings, they’ll know to check their own actions by way of their conscience.

If anyone wonders why I am no longer participating openly in a particular place, it is because I will not be an active part of a machine that chews up good people and spits them out.  You can still contact me privately.  I still have eyes, and I am still here.  I will however only share my words where I know that all are treated well.

About Tala

-Livestream Broadcaster - Active in Periscope & Busker -YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, & Facebook Pages www.talanoexcuses.live Advocacy for better quality of life with catastrophic illness & injury. Conditions I live with myself are my awareness platform: rheumatic autoimmune & neurological, women's heart disease Traditional First Nations (Native American) -Training: Tai Ch'i Chuan, medical terminology, cultural Medicine -Avid about hiking, camping, & outdoor adventure Special Interests: Natural health, everything from East Indian to East Carolina cuisine, 16th Century German fencing Favorite Travel Spots: Yosemite, Catalina Island, E. North Carolina, Northern CA redwoods/coastal rainforest ~I live as naturally as I can, stay on a whole foods diet (as in what I eat, not as in "a diet"), avoid as many synthetic meds as I can, and do not consume artificial sweeteners and most preservatives. If you're curious about why, see my posts.~ Periscope/Twitter ID: Tala_NoExcuses https://badges.wegohealth.com/ha-awards-2016.js?referrer=Owb2x2Nb8L81mhJHyfwGcg

Posted on March 20, 2012, in General Blather, I Am That Wolf and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Friendship is a very important relationship. Seeing a friend suffer unnecessarily because of a knee jerk reaction, without allowing that person the opportunity to defend one’s self is hard to forgive. That is especially the case when it happens to someone you care about. Your decision not to participate will certainly be noticed. The hardest part is the inability to take a stand when you know there are so many people who depend on the words you process are helpful to people who need to hear the words you have to share. It leaves one feeling helpless in many ways. I respect your stand, just wish none of this happened and that this blog didn’t need to be written.

Leave a Reply

