Being a Real Warrior


I remember these tests I used to take when I was in counseling… temperament sorters. One of the questions asked in the “which is more important” list is honesty or kindness. I can never answer that in good conscience, because I simply do not believe that one can exist and function as a normal, healthy, adult in society without exercising both.

Anyone that knows me well knows that I value honesty above all else. That does not however excuse anyone’s need to blurt whatever they are thinking. Sensitivity to others is just as important, and you don’t always need to say what is on your mind. I believe the applicable saying here is that discretion is the better part of valor. If you want to go with childhood rhetoric, then “If you don’t have anything to nice to say, don’t say anything at all” works. I don’t believe in keeping everything bottled up, don’t get me wrong. I just see a trend lately where people feel justified in regurgitating their bitterness and distress all over the internet. Then they sit back and say, “What? I’m allowed to have an opinion.” You are. You are also expected to have a conscience about how your actions affect others. If it’s of no concern to you that words can cause hurt, and you don’t care about fellow humans, then by all means blurt away. In the mean time, I will be spending time with my friends that understand compassion and accommodation for the feelings of others.

There is more than enough hatred to go around. We don’t need to add to the pool, so learn to temper yourself a little. Be a REAL warrior. Warriors are not about attacking everything in their path. They are disciplined and introspective creatures that take steps sincerely and know when to stop and observe in silence. That is an honorable path to walk.

About Tala

-Livestream Broadcaster - Active in Periscope & Busker -YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, & Facebook Pages www.talanoexcuses.live Advocacy for better quality of life with catastrophic illness & injury. Conditions I live with myself are my awareness platform: rheumatic autoimmune & neurological, women's heart disease Traditional First Nations (Native American) -Training: Tai Ch'i Chuan, medical terminology, cultural Medicine -Avid about hiking, camping, & outdoor adventure Special Interests: Natural health, everything from East Indian to East Carolina cuisine, 16th Century German fencing Favorite Travel Spots: Yosemite, Catalina Island, E. North Carolina, Northern CA redwoods/coastal rainforest ~I live as naturally as I can, stay on a whole foods diet (as in what I eat, not as in "a diet"), avoid as many synthetic meds as I can, and do not consume artificial sweeteners and most preservatives. If you're curious about why, see my posts.~ Periscope/Twitter ID: Tala_NoExcuses https://badges.wegohealth.com/ha-awards-2016.js?referrer=Owb2x2Nb8L81mhJHyfwGcg

Posted on April 1, 2013, in General Blather, I Am That Wolf and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. butudontlooksick

    I absolutely agree. A good argument is healthy but a mean spirited jab where you attack and retreat isn’t any real fun. It’s a bit passive aggressive. Here’s an example: Jim Carrey recently put out a video poking fun at gun-toting rural people and made fun of Charlton Heston. Someone dead and not able to defend themselves or their beliefs. Maybe it was a vie for attention, but it was mean-spirited. Why not pick on someone who can defend themselves, like Ted Nugent? (because Ted Nugent could kick his butt?) It’s lame to hit and run. And that’s what I don’t like about these mean spirited jabs I keep seeing on facebook and elsewhere. They don’t invite a healthy debate, they just hurt. Being invisible online does not entitle you to lose your manners or act out.

    In all cases whether in person or online, act to others like you would like to be treated yourself. I believe it’s one of the the ten commandments. You don’t have to be religious to be a decent and good person, considerate of others. It is your responsibility to be as good a person as you can.

    All you have is your dignity. It is always with you whether others can see you or not, so preserve it.

    HUGS, Julie

  2. I don’t talk about it a lot, but I read Tao writings. This one seemed applicable to the topic.

    The compassionate need neither words nor concepts to guide them on their way,
    but not even silence can liberate those embracing hatred.

Leave a Reply

